Occurs on Saturday October 12 2019

Approximate running time: 2 hours


Michigan Theater
603 E Liberty St
Ann Arbor MI 48104

Performance Notes

× An orchestra reacts to and serves the cultural needs of its community. Through this process, the sound and identity of an orchestra are molded. For Joan Tower, the individuality formed through this process became the colors to fill the canvas of Made In America. Premiered in 2005, the piece toured through orchestras in all 50 states filling halls of all shapes and sizes. The piece inherently celebrates and embraces differences as it is given a new identity with every stop it makes from California to New York. This evening of music penned in America continues with Stravinsky’s revised 1950 version of The Fairy’s Kiss, originally written for the New York City Ballet. It was also in New York where Dvořák wrote two of his most memorable themes in the opening movement of his Concerto in B minor for Cello and Orchestra. The final moments of this noteworthy evening of music feature the heartfelt coda written by Dvořák in memory of his sister-in-law, Josefina Kaunitzová.

Buy To This Event Directions